Prøvelyt
The Mercies - Kiran Millwood Hargrave

The Mercies

The Mercies

4,3 37 5 Forfatter: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Oplæser: Jessie Buckley
Findes som lydbog.
The Sunday Times Bestseller and BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2020

For readers of Circe and The Handmaid’s Tale, Kiran Millwood Hargrave's The Mercies is a story about a love that could prove as dangerous as it is powerful.

Winter, 1617. The sea around the remote Norwegian island of Vardø is thrown into a reckless storm. A young woman, Maren, watches as the men of the island, out fishing, perish in an instant. Vardø is now a place of women.

Eighteen months later, a sinister figure arrives. Summoned from Scotland to take control of a place at the edge of the civilized world, Absalom Cornet knows what he needs to do to bring the women of the island to heel. With him travels his young wife, Ursa. In her new home, and in Maren, Ursa finds something she has never seen before: independent women. But Absalom sees only a place flooded with a terrible evil, one he must root out at all costs . . .

'Beautiful and chilling' Madeline Miller, author of Circe
'Took my breath away' Tracy Chevalier, author of Girl with a Pearl Earring
Sprog: Engelsk Kategori: Romaner Oversætter:

Mere info om lydbogen:

Forlag: Picador
Udgivet: 2020-02-06
Længde: 11T 5M
ISBN: 9781529005158
Kommentarer

Stream på farten

Lyt og læs, hvor og når det passer dig - med Mofibo har du altid dit helt eget bibliotek i lommen. Start din gratis prøveperiode i dag.

Prøv 14 dage gratis