4 MÅNEDER MED 50% RABAT! Aktiver tilbuddet
Ikke anmeldt
Del 1 af 99

The Eight Strokes of the Clock

Forfatter: Maurice Leblanc E-bog

The Eight Strokes of the Clock (1922) is a collection of short stories by Maurice Leblanc. Partly based on the life of French anarchist Marius Jacob, Arsène Lupin first appeared in print in 1905 as an answer to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes. Blending crime fiction, fantasy, and mystery, Leblanc crafts original and entertaining tales of adventure starring one of the greatest literary characters of all time—Arsène Lupin, gentleman thief.

Arsène Lupin is the world’s greatest thief, an unmatched force for good whose exploits threaten the wealth and standing of France’s most wicked men. In this debut installment of Leblanc’s beloved series, Lupin uses his remarkable wit and chameleon-like ability to move undetected through aristocratic society in order to steal, trick, and cheat his way through life. Despite his criminal nature, he operates under a strict moral code, only taking from those who have taken from the poor all their lives. In this collection of short stories, Lupin reveals the adventures of a strangely familiar figure—himself. Using the alias Prince Rénine, he recalls some of his most thrilling escapades. With the help of his beautiful comrade Hortense, the Prince sets out to solve the mysterious disappearance and murder of several women. When Hortense goes missing, he fears for the worst, and must race against time in order to save her life. The Eight Strokes of the Clock is a story of romance, mystery, and crime that continues to astound over a century after it was published.

With a beautifully designed cover and professionally typeset manuscript, this edition of Maurice Leblanc’s The Eight Strokes of the Clock is a classic of French literature reimagined for modern readers.

© 2021 Mint Editions (E-bog) ISBN: 9781513295275