Symptoms of Being Human

van Jeff Garvin
7u48m Gelezen door Tom Phelan

Beschrijving uitgeverij

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers . Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life. On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything. From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

Recensies gebruikers

Aantal beoordelingen: 4
Het boek heeft nog geen recensies

Meer informatie

Soort boek
Gelezen door
Tom Phelan

Jeugd: Fictie algemeen
Jeugd/Tieners: Persoonlijke & maatschappelijke kwesties
Jeugd: Tiener-fictie & waargebeurde verhalen
Voor kinderen vanaf 14 jaar
Leeftijdsgroepen: Adolescenten & pubers
Jeugd: Pesten, geweld & misbruik
Gay & Lesbian studies
Gender studies, gender groups